Guardian ‘Comment is Free’ piece on ‘What happens after a Scottish independence Yes vote?’

Drawing on my Belfast lecture, I’ve a piece in the Guardian‘s ‘Comment is Free’ section on what would happen following a Yes vote in September’s Scottish independence referendum.  I argue that the difficulties with a long transition are very great indeed, and that there are compelling reasons to ensure Scotland becomes independent by the time of the May 2015 UK general election if there is a Yes vote.  That  would be formidably difficult – not only are there are tough and complicated issues to be negotiated and resolved  between the governments, but also legislation needs to be passed by both Scottish and UK Parliaments (and the UK Government would need to pass a paving bill too).  But the problems caused by a longer transition are even more formidable, in my view.

The CiF piece can be found here.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Implications of Scottish independence, Publications and projects, Referendums, Scotland, Scottish independence, Westminster, Whitehall

One response to “Guardian ‘Comment is Free’ piece on ‘What happens after a Scottish independence Yes vote?’

  1. harry

    As a Scot I am moving all my savings from Scotland to England into English banks but voting for independence
    I cant take the risk that my savings disappear or that after independence they stop money flowing across borders.
    Also my money is safer backed by a rich England and the Bank of England
    Why risk it? I can always move it back afterwards but why would I?
    I want independence but will not take a chance with my own money. No way!

Leave a Reply

